Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Book Review: The Inkblots Hermann Rorschach and his Iconic Test


FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of the book for review purposes from the publisher.  All opinions are my own.  This post contains affiliate links.

I was a psychology major in college.  Yet, we barely touched on Rorschach.   My first exposure to the test (which, incidentally, the inventor never called a test) was in junior high school when I was undergoing a battery of tests because I was in the Gifted and Talented class.  After about two cards I was bored and gave one word answers so I could move on to something more interesting.  I mean, why should I have to mention everything in the card?  Wouldn't that take forever?  And what did it help anyone to know my opinion of abstract art?

So, when I had the chance to review The Inkblots: Hermann Rorschach, His Iconic Test, and the Power of Seeing, I was intrigued.  Maybe I could learn more about the man who came up with this standard psychology assessment and also have an idea of how it worked.  This book didn't disappoint.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Book Review: You're Already Amazing

FTC Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  The opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links.


Review of You're Already Amazing by Holly Gerth:

I like reading books for Christian women.  I honestly do, but many times I feel I can't relate to them.  I don't struggle with wondering if I'm "good enough" (I am), if I'm pretty enough (If looks matter that much, that person isn't someone I would want to have in my life), or if my feelings are okay (My mother always taught me you can't help your feelings.  They are what they are.) So many times I am thinking, "Are these the biggest issues facing Christian women today?" (I do think they are, but I just can't relate!)  That's how this book started -- me enjoying reading the book, but not much in it for me until. . .

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Book Review: Take Your Life Back by Stephen Arterburn

FTC disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own.

I have been a long time fan of books by Stephen Arterburn.  In a world of too many Christian psychology books giving pat answers, I love his approach combing true therapy answers with faith.  Take Your Life Back:  How to Stop Letting The Past and Other People Control you was once again a breath of fresh air in a genre where it seems all too many books give the answer "pray".  (While I'm not saying you shouldn't pray, there are studies and discoveries that can enrich our lives with their knowledge.)

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Ellie Claire Bible Journaling Kit Review Giveaway Ends 11/20/16

FTC disclaimer:  I received a free product in exchange for a fair and honest review.  This post contains affiliate links.

When I was offered the opportunity to review the Bible Journaling Kit by Ellie Claire, I was excited.  The kit includes:


  • 4 sheets of word stickers
  • 4 sheets of alphabet stickers
  • 24 "tab" stickers
  • 8 twistable coloring pencils
  • 1 journaling pen
  • 1 pouch with adjustable strap
  • 1 ruled page protector mat with tracing lines
I am not very artistic when it comes to non-fiber arts, but I do enjoy coloring and some Bible journaling.  With my Bible journaling I often just recreate Bible verses with lettering, but still this kit seemed perfect for me.

Sunday, October 30, 2016

The Zendure A3 External Battery Charger Review

FTC disclaimer:  I received a complimentary Zendure A3 in order to faciliate a review.  All opinions are my own.  This post contains affiliate links.

It was four years ago today that Hurricane Sandy hit my town.  The superstorm piled a massive amount of snow on my area.   If you think that would be bad enough we lost power.   Plus my mother was on dialysis.  And there was a utility line down in our driveway we needed to make sure it was not a live wire before we attempted to drive under it.

Needless to say we were in a matter of life and death.  If my mother couldn't get to dialysis, she would die.  The only communication we had out of the house was my cell phone.  But we had no power to charge it.  Suffice it to say, I was in an all out panic mode because I knew I had to figure out a solution before my battery died -- or my mother would too.  I was able to, but it was a lot of added stress to an already survival mode situation.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Book Review: The Recovering Spender

I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review.  This post contains affiliate links.

I was excited when I had the chance to review The Recovering Spender:  How to Live a Happy, Fulfilled, Debt-Free Life by Lauren Greutman.  As is common in today's world, another financial book by a financial blogger.  I find nothing wrong with that.  I am a financial blogger myself, but I can't read every blog, and I love hearing others' stories of how they got into -- and out of -- debt.

The one thing I found very different about Greutman's story is she was a shopaholic.  I often think of people who get in trouble financially as ones that lose a job, incur a large amount of medical bills, or something similar, it was her shopping that got her family into trouble.

There were different times reading this book, I thought, "That's a terrible idea" -- such as the impulse buy of a house in another state!  Honestly, that's something I would LOVE to do because I admit I'm unhappy where I live now, but I know it's not financially feasible for us to move for a while.  The Greutman family just up and bought a house a few states away.  I feel this was even a bigger problem to their finances than her shopaholic tendencies.

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Review: Praying for Your Future Husband by Robin Jones Gunn and Tricia Goyer

FTC disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own.  This post contains affiliate links.

When I was a teenager in youth group, I used to be told “Pray for your future husband. He needs your prayers.” The advice was good, but no one ever said HOW to pray for your future husband or WHAT to pray for him.

That's where Robin Jones Gunn's and Tricia Goyer's book Praying for Your Future Husband comes in. The subtitle is “Preparing Your Heart for His” so from just the cover you know it's not all about your Prince Charming, but on what the future bride can do NOW to get herself ready for her husband.

Gunn and Goyer have twelve chapters of things we can pray for our future husband. (Although not mentioned, if wanted you could focus on one chapter a month.) Also in the back is a list of fifty-two Scriptures with comments of how to use each of those in prayer. They did make the suggestion these be used one per week for a year.

Sunday, September 18, 2016

Book review: Life in Spite of Me Living After a Suicide Attempt

FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of the book from the publisher for review purposes.  All opinions are my own.  This post may contain affiliate links.

In the book Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice, Kristen Anderson was depressed. Not really any one thing contributed to this depression, but she'd been fighting with her parents, three friends had died as well as her grandmother, she had been raped, and the previous night she'd been out until ten in the morning with friends. She was grounded until further notice. She sneaked out to be with friends, left a note saying she was going to take a walk, and later was in a park. She decided to sit on a train car and think. As she heard a train approach, she decided she would end her life. She planned for the train to hit her and she assumed death would come instantly. Instead, she survived, but her legs were cut from her body.

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Book Review: Money Secrets of the Amish

FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own.  This post contains affiliate links.

This book made me discover something:  I'm Amish.  Or at least many of my shopping habits are!

In Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving, Lorilee Cracker examines why even during economic downturns the Amish still are thriving financially.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Review: The Illustrator's Notetaking Bible

FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of this Bible from the publisher in order to facilitate a review.  All opinions are my own.  This post does contain affiliate links.

I absolutely love the new craze of Bible journaling, notetaking, and coloring.  When I was in college, I tried unsuccessfully to find a Bible that would allow me wide margins so I could take notes, draw, and paste in clippings from church bulletins, etc.  I couldn't find one, so I opted for a blank book and a plain Bible (very much like a Pew Bible.)

Almost twenty years later, I realize I was no alone in my desire for a Bible like that.  I would have loved the HCSB Illustrator's Notetaking Bible.  There are over 600 images including drawings, text design, and filigree.  I love the text images the best, though.  I am not as artsy as I wish I was, and those seem less daunting for me to color.  (I'm the one who had my Kindergarten teacher call my mother over a deer I colored one day when we were learning about the letter "D" in class.  I've always been self-conscious of my artwork since that day.)  I do love coloring, though.  I always have, I used it as a stress reliever in college, and the very first time I colored in my new Notetakers Bible, I had a stressful day, and I used it to help relax me and help me focus my mind on the Lord.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Book Review: Spiritual Sobriety by Elizabeth Esther

FTC disclaimer:  This post contains affiliate links.  I received a copy of this book for review purposes, but all opinions are my own.

When I was offered the opportunity to review Spiritual Sobriety:  Stumbling Bak to Faith When Good Religion Goes Bad by Elizabeth Esther, I was excited.  I reviewed her book Girl at the Edge of the World when it was released, and I was looking forward to reading her second book.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

Blog Giveaway Linky List

How to use this list:

Sponsors:  I try to list your giveaway on each of these linkups for the maximum exposure of your product.

Bloggers:  You can go to each of these links to advertise your blog giveaway on each linky.

Those who like to enter contests and giveaways:  Each link is a treasure trove of things being given away.



Saturday, April 16, 2016

Purex Plus Clorox 2 Review and Giveaway


FTC disclaimer:  I received a free product for review purposes from the company.  All opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links.

I recently received a free bottle of Purex with Clorox 2 in the mail.  I was excited to use it because stains are a huge problem on my clothes.  I tend to be a "spilly" when I eat.  Yesterday, for instance, I was eating a frozen meal of eggplant parmesan and somehow when trying to cut an eggplant into bite sized pieces another eggplant flew out of the container and on to my shirt.  Yeah, I'm that friend.

So I decided I was going to really put the Purex with Clorox 2 to the test.  It had been a while since we had washed our potholders and oven mitts, and I can't think of anything more stained in the house than those.


Friday, February 5, 2016

Book Review: Breaking Busy by Alli Worthington #BreakingBusy

FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes.  All opinions are my own.  This post may contain affiliate links.

There's a new book out called Breaking Busy.   I don't know of any woman who has extra time on her hands, and personally, my daily schedule looks more like a battle plan than a to do list.  In fact, I've gotten a bit into glam planning because using different colors and stickers helps me be able to tell at a glance what I need to do instead of reading a whole list of things.

I hoped that the author, Alli Worthington, would be able to tell me all the ways that I could quit this crazy schedule of mine.  Some days I wish I could go somewhere I couldn't check e-mail for a week.   But since I work at home, that's not possible.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Book Review: Your New Money Mindset

FTC disclaimer:  This post may contain affiliate links.  I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes.

I love reading financial books.  While I don't have a lot of money, I want to make sure I use what I do have in the best possible way.

I had recently finished reading a book that was all about creating wealth.  It was a Christian book, but I didn't feel quite comfortable with something in the book, but Your New Money Mindset helped me understand what made me feel uneasy about the other book.  Does it really help if you are in hot pursuit of money if your attitude towards it hasn't changed?  In this book, one of the authors talked about buying a nice car, and then taking a different job where we felt he had more car than what he needed and decided to sell it.  I liked that.  Taking stock of what we have and looking at what we need.  While it's not bad to have good things, I think there is a lot to be said for moderation.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Passion Salvation's Tide is Rising Review and Giveaway

FTC disclaimer:  I received a digital copy of this album for review.  All opinions are my own.


I remember when the Passion movement started.  A friend was able to be at one of the first events, and I was so jealous.  I was still in college, and it seems like a lifetime ago.  Passion is still putting on Christian events for college students, and they have almost become synonymous with fantastic praise and worship music which is then often embraced by churches.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Chonda Pierce Still Laughing after All These Tears DVD Set Review

FTC disclaimer:   I received a DVD set from Family Christian for review purposes.  All opinions are my own.  This post does contain affiliate links.

When I had the opportunity to review an EIGHT DVD set of Chonda Pierce called Still Laughing After All these Tears, I just had to say yes.  After all, I've never met her but she and I went to the same college (although she went years before I did) and we have mutual friends on Facebook.  So that must mean she is amazing, right?   (Either that or my friends just put up with me and they like her! ha ha!)

Thursday, November 5, 2015

Book Review: Safe House by Joshua Straub

FTC disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book for review purposes.  All opinions are my own.  This post contains affiliate links.


My husband and I are in classes to train us so we can either foster or adopt children. When Family Christian offered me a chance to review Safe House by Joshua Straub I was excited to read this book.

This book was a bit of a slow read for me.  I never, never, never dog ear a book.  This one had so much great information in it, that it was the exception to my rule.  This went along with what I have been learning in class, just in more detail.

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Book Review: 7 Secrets to an Awesome Marriage Review

FTC disclaimer:  I received an advanced reading copy of this book to facilitate my review.  This post does contain affiliate links.  All opinions are my own.


I've been married for about five weeks.  Some people are probably wondering why I feel qualified to review a book on marriage.  A fact that has surprised several friends recently is I am no stranger to reading books on marriage.  I heard a speaker in high school say we should read up on subjects that interest us and that are important to us.  I've always wanted to get married, so I started reading books on marriage at that time.  After all, your marriage is your most important human relationship.  I know a number of people would say that is incorrect and your most important human relationship should be your child.  I disagree, because I feel like a child will thrive more if he knows both parents love each other.

Friday, May 22, 2015

Called to be Amish by Marlene Miller Book Review

FTC disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. This post contains affiliate links.

I realize I went to an unconventional high school.  There were 16 of us in grades 1-12.  A small Christian school at the beginning of the Christian schooling movement, we were unique.  Mine was the first graduating class.  We were located right in the middle of an Amish community.

We didn't have any Amish students attending our school, but I can remember buying carrots from the lady with the buggy parked in her garage.  There's nothing like a carrot harvested that day.  It was not unusual for another Amish lady to stop by to use the phone in our one room schoolhouse.